Initial qualifications begin for Clarksville City Council, City Judge

14 citizens have picked up petitions to qualify as candidates for Clarksville City Council and City Judge. The qualification period opened on Monday, June 22nd and the deadline to return the petitions is August 20th.

Seven of the 12 city ward positions will be on the ballot in the upcoming November 3rd election. To qualify, a candidate is required to obtain 25 nominating signatures from registered voters in the area of their desired position.

The current incumbents of the council are: Ron Erb in Ward 3, Tim Chandler from Ward 4, Valerie Guzman in Ward 5, Jeff Henley from Ward 9 and appointed Councilman Gary Norris in Ward 11. Members David Allen in Ward 8 and Jeff Burkhart in Ward 12 are terming out of their respective positions.

Chelsea Camp has picked up a petition to run in Ward 3.

Wallace Redd and Margaret Thompson look to face one another in Ward 4. Redd previously served as County Commissioner in District 16 and has served a total of four terms on City Council.

In Ward 5, Joey Dasinger looks to contend against Melissa Eldridge and District 18 County Commissioner Jason Knight.

Wanda Allen and Faye Hobson have picked up petitions for Ward 8. Allen is the wife of the current Ward 8 Councilman David Allen.

Seal of Clarksville (City of Clarksville)
Seal of Clarksville (City of Clarksville)

Ward 9 has two potential candidates that have picked up petitions so far, Bradley Morrow and Karen Reynolds.

Gary Norris has picked up papers to retain his seat for Ward 11. Norris was appointed to fill the unexpired term vacated by State Senator Bill Powers.

Trisha Butler and David Webb look to qualify and face off in Ward 12. The elected councilperson in Ward 12 will replace Jeff Burkhart who is ineligible to run again due to term limits.

In the race for Clarksville City Judge, incumbent Charles Smith has been the only potential candidate so far to pick up a petition.

The Clarksville City Council and City Judge elections will take place on Nov. 3. Additional candidates have until Aug. 20 to qualify. More information regarding candidates, scheduling, and voter information can be found on the Montgomery County and Go Vote TN websites.

Blaine Kellar

Related posts

Leave a Comment